To Begin (the morning…)

Many times in my life I have listened to different music genres and artists. My own musical taste has developed and grown with each passing life stage. Over the years I have experienced a range of musical influences whether it be a YouTube video with two million views or a 5am conversation in the heart of Donegal with friends. It’s only natural that we become influenced by the world around us and that these influences spur us on in our own creative journey.

I can clearly remember which band influenced me to look at my old, dusty guitar with a renewed interest and to start playing after a long period of musical neglect. However no particular artist, song or album has influenced me to start writing my own music.  Each of my songs have taken on a life and journey of their own. Each song is unique and may have been influenced by a current event in the world, an everyday phrase, a passing stranger on the street or simply a feeling.  Each song has its own story to tell and I can say with absolute clarity it was the author of horror fiction, Stephen King, who influenced me to finally put pen to paper and to let my songs tell their own story.

I have a sentimental passion for music and how it has the power to resurface memories, good and bad. Maybe I lend too much weight to the songs I write and the messages which are contained within them. I suppose this is a natural proudness people exhibit when they create. I think that a listener can connect or relate to my songs in some way – but not in an obscure horoscope way where you link the song to every possible part of your life. I suppose that is why I am writing this. To let you know that the following songs and connecting life experiences are mine but which, I feel, a lot of people can relate to.

For too long I have stared at the walls in my house, singing to my university statue, endeavouring to get better but being confident with my own style. I have been told at times that I need to live in the real world…but the world of the Matrix, where you are as good as you think you are, is much more fun!

I suppose a word of caution is needed before you continue. I have never denied that singing is something which I equally dread and love. The former as I do not profess to be a singer (which you will shortly find out). This, however, is why the latter is so important. I love writing my own songs, singing my own songs and listening to my own songs. Although people have attempted to comfort me with ‘You know that they said that Bob Dylan couldn’t sing either’ I realistically understand that I wasn’t gifted with the gift of the singing gab. Nevertheless, they say that beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Can musical beauty be in the ear of the beholder too? You don’t have to whole heartedly believe that this is so. If, however, this is something which you can accept then you may appreciate what is to follow.

I hope this can, at the very least, inspire the reader to pick up an abandoned instrument, put pen to paper, be brave and put the fear of embarrassment to the side and let their creative side roam free.

N.B I haven’t allocated myself a fixed amount of time to begin or end this ‘project’ if that indeed is what it is. I only know that I have a song book which has been created over the past few years which contains self-written songs…songs which touch on a multitude of different subjects and life experiences. This is not a blog about my life but rather about how I have endeavoured to write music, some of which reflect or touch on life experiences, and how this has evolved over the years.

Here is “Where Will You Sail?” (Acoustic).

D.M.

 

2 comments

  1. The Petulant Muse · February 12, 2016

    Thank you for following me! I’m so happy you did. I was able to check out your blog and see that we approach our creativity similarly. I love that you preface each song with a little background first. Your thoughts and feelings in the process. I think that is so important. And I have now listened to every song on this blog and am happy to see that later on, you’ve stopped using the tag “can’t sing”. You have a great voice. I really enjoyed listening and can’t wait to hear more from you! Follow your passion, it’s the only thing that makes sense in this crazy life.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. juniorchillsofficial · February 12, 2016

    Not at all. Thanks for the return follow. I really appreciate the feedback…I haven’t set myself any targets or restricted myself to a time frame but there are a definite number of songs I have wrote with stories attached which I will be posting because of the sentimental value they have but also because I think that people may be able to relate to them in some way, shape or form…I hope you continue to enjoy them 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment