Junior Chills – Reaching (original)

Junior Chills – Reaching (original)

I wrote this song yesterday and it took me approximately 5 minutes to complete. I think that it is because of this feat that I really like the song. It’s not often you write the lyrics and music of a song in such a short space of time or at least that has been my experience of writing songs.

Simple chord progression which sounded nice and lyrics which followed suit quite quickly made the song come together as quickly too. I had received an email yesterday morning regarding an original video and song combo competition which I had been invited to enter. Nearly all the songs I put online are originals as to are the videos which I put together via stock footage. However the competition asks for the performer to be in the video playing the song…so I wrote a new song and I made a new video. Like each recording of my music, the video was raw recorded with only an inverted filter added to make it look a bit more different / funky!!

The gas mask in the video is a complete nod to Dead Mans Shoes by Shane Meadows. Great movie!! Watch it right now if you haven’t already seen it…and if you have, watch it again right now!!

For some reason within those five minutes of composing the song I was thinking about a small, seaside town in Ireland called Ballyhornan. This is a place which I have visited since I was a child and a place which I continue to go to whenever the weather picks up. It is a place where I have caught a million fish; a place where I have camped out under the stars; a place where I have watched my friends try to brave the arctic like waters at 2am (and fail); a place which evokes a multitude of different feelings and emotions which makes it a truly wonderful place.

I suppose this can be my song for Ballyhornan.

P.S. Thankfully none of my friends drowned that year…stupid fuckers!

D.M.

 

