‘Hoops’ – the song that never was…

Hoops – the song that never was…

‘Hoops’ is a wee romantic number I wrote a while back and is the song I used to enter a singer-songwriter competition in Belfast. Needless to say I didn’t get into the competition. There is a wealth of musical talent in my local area so I was up against some serious musicians. They were also only taking 60 people through to the competition…but I am fairly confident that if it was 61 people going through I would have been the 61st person no sweat! Hahaha

There are a lot of different things discussed and / or alluded to in some way in this romantic number. The one I like the most is probably ‘I need to tell you while I can you’re my girl and I’m your man, it’s one of those things that doesn’t really need saying’. It’s the whole idea of whenever you start being in a relationship and reflecting back to the day when you started going out, did you have the conversation of now we are boyfriend / girlfriend? It’s one of those things that doesn’t really need saying but we say it anyway.

I also like the whole idea of chivalry. It’s a done thing that if It’s cold outside you give your other half your jacket…it’s a nice thing to do and because of that you do feel warm inside for doing it but in your head you like ‘for fuck sake now I am baltic’: around her shoulder I place my coat, there’s warmth inside even though you’re arms are freezing.

Finally ‘when pain hit hard, you hit pain back, you never tired and never slacked, worked so hard now the benefits you’re reaping’.  This line was written for my wife who, at that time, had a very difficult and stressful job. You are allowed to have shitty days, you’re even allowed to have shitty weeks but it is how you deal with these days and weeks which is key as now she is reaping the benefits of persevering and working things through. This goes for everything and not just work. With relationships there is obviously going to be speed bumps along the way but if you work with it then you come out on the other side stronger.

As I was entering this song into a singer – songwriter competition I recorded this at a Recording Studio. Again the click track wasn’t working for me (maybe the click track is perpetually broken and not me) so it was another raw recording. I think there is a bit of reverb on the vocals and, in parts, there is a double up of the vocals. I think it sounds really good…well obviously since I wrote it! Took a bit of time to develop a video for the song again where the images reflect some of the words spoken… so check it out and see what you think.

D.M.

6 comments

  1. thebibliotheque · February 22, 2016

    As soon as I read the “wee romantic” I knew I was going to like you guys! I lived for a couple of years in Belfast and the “wee” gave your location away instantly 🙂 I’m so happy to find an emerging band from Northern Ireland!

    This post is great, I love the idea of the song writer explaining the lyrics and what’s behind them with wee funny comments (you should totally remind your significant other to wear a jacket in a night out, it’s Belfast for fuck sake). Too bad your song didn’t make the cut, I’m sure you’ll have plenty of opportunities in the future!

    All the best! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. juniorchillsofficial · February 22, 2016

    Hahaha excellent stuff!! Thank you very much for your kind words…we really appreciate it 🙂 same here…in the meantime ill keep throwing them online here!!! Take it easy!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Erika Kind · February 22, 2016

    That is a really great song! My compliment!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. vickgoodwin · February 29, 2016

    This one is just great too! I like the guitar in the song too. Really enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. KG · March 1, 2016

    I agree with thebibliotheque. Its nice to hear about the story that went into the song 🙂 Good one!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ginnasays · March 1, 2016

    Nice song and attaching the story is a nice touch gives us readers/listeners an insight

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

