‘As soon as we found Stuttgart, we got the wagons in a ring’ – Setting Up

I just wanted to take a quick break from putting up some of our material and let you know about the equipment that we are using to record. We are essentially raw recording. All we are using is a camera, a shure microphone, guitar and an amp:

 

My experience in the recording studio has showed me that I have the great misfortune / fortune not to be able to use auto tune for my voice as apparently I sing between keys…which is fucked up… but I’ll claim this as a nice uniqueness to my voice.

We have not been using an interface but rather complete old school method of microphone in the middle and amps tilted towards the mic. This is because the mic is connected directly to the camera…as the quality is a million times better than the cameras mic.

The set up is quite funny and reminds me of a Christy Moore lyric ‘As soon as we found Stuttgart, we got the wagons in a ring’. We sit around the mic and try our best with what we have. Sometimes being minimalistic is easier…and hopefully sounds nice…

Leave a Reply

